Pakistan beat New Zealand in second T20 at Eden Park

Islamabad: Pakistan beat New Zealand by 48 runs in the second T20 international to level the series 1-1 in a high-scoring thriller at Eden Park, Auckland on Thursday. Pakistani batsmen put up an imposing total of 201-4 after Sarfraz Ahmed won the toss and chose to bat.

Player-of-the-Match Fakhar Zaman and Babar Azam hit fifties, while Ahmed Shehzad marked his return to the playing XI with a fiery 44 off 34 balls. Skipper Sarfraz, who promoted himself up the order, contributed 41 off 24 while back-in-form Babar Azam stayed not out at 50 off 29 deliveries.

New Zealand were bowled out at 153, after a combination of pace attack, spin and brilliant fielding led Pakistan to end the Kiwis’ 13-match winning streak (across all formats) and score their first win of the tour.

The Kiwis had beaten Pakistan by seven wickets in the first T20 in Wellington. Pakistan now face off against the hosts in the third and final T20 on Sunday, January 28.

Playing XI
Pakistan: Fakhar Zaman, Ahmed Shehzad, Babar Azam, Sarfraz Ahmed (c), Umar Amin, Haris Sohail, Shadab Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Amir, Rumman Raees

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Kane Williamson (c), Tom Bruce, Glenn Phillips, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Ben Wheeler, Ish Sodhi, Seth Rance, Trent Boult

About Arif Qureshi

Check Also

Pakistan wins T20 tri-series title with win over Australia

Harare: Pakistan today won the T20 tri-series  with six wicket win over Australia. Opener Fakhar Zaman …